Source Information New Mexico, U.S., Compiled Marriage Index, 1727-1900 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Operations Inc, 2005.
Original data: Liahona Research, comp. New Mexico, Marriages, 1727-1900. Index compiled from county marriage records in microfilm, microfiche, or book format located at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah by Liahona Research (P.O. Box 740, Orem, Utah 84059). For specific source information see the source field listed for each entry.

About New Mexico, U.S., Compiled Marriage Index, 1727-1900

This database contains information on individuals who were married in select areas of New Mexico between 1727 and 1900. A list of which counties are included in this index is provided below. Information that may be found in this database for each individual includes:

  • Name
  • Spouse's name
  • Marriage date
  • Marriage place
  • Source information

Marriage records are great sources for genealogists because they document an individual in a particular place and time as well as provide details about that person's marriage.

It is important that you use the information found in this database to locate your ancestor in the original records that this index references. Usually more information is available in the records themselves than is found in an index. For example, marriage records sometimes provide the birth dates and places of the bride and groom, their parents' names, their addresses, and witnesses' names, in addition to the information found in this index.

New Mexico's marriage records are kept by local County Clerks. A copy of a marriage record can be obtained from the Clerk of Superior Court in the county where the marriage license was issued.

Each county name is followed by the approximate years covered. Note that this index is not comprehensive and will not contain all marriages that occurred within these time periods and localities.

  • Bernalillo County (Albuquerque only), 1727-1850
  • Bernalillo County, 1887-1900
  • Chaves County, 1891-1895
  • Colfax County, 1870-1900
  • Dona Ana County, 1869-1900
  • Eddy County, 1890-1900
  • Grant County, 1868-1872
  • Otero County, 1889-1900
  • San Juan County, 1887-1900
  • Socorro County, 1864-1885
  • Taos County, 1863-1900
  • Union County, 1893-1900
  • Valencia County, 1869-1897