Source Information

Hunting For Bears, comp.. Georgia Marriages, 1699-1944 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Operations Inc, 2004.
Original data: Georgia marriage information taken from county courthouse records. Many of these records were extracted from copies of the original records in microfilm, microfiche, or book format, located at the Family History Library.

About Georgia Marriages, 1699-1944

This database contains marriage information from selected areas of Georgia from 1699-1944. For a complete list of which counties are included in this index, see below. Please note that not all counties are included. Information that may be found in this database for each individual includes their name, spouse's name, marriage date and location, and where to locate copies of the original marriage record. Marriage records are great sources for genealogists because they document an individual in a particular place and time as well as provide details about that person's marriage.

It is important that you use the information found in this database to locate your ancestor in the original records that this index references. Usually more information is available in the records themselves than is found in an index. For example, marriage records sometimes provide the birth dates and places of the bride and groom, their parents' names, their addresses, and witnesses' names, in addition to the information found in this index.

This collection represents information originating on courthouse marriage licenses in various Georgia counties. While the original records that this collection references may be found at the county courthouses, copies of these records may be found on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City or the state archives.

Counties and years included in this database:

Baldwin (1801-1879)
Bartow (1800-1861)
Bibb (1821-1863)
Bleckley (1913-1941)
Brooks (1859-1895)
Bryan (1865-1889)
Bullock (1796-1923)
Butts (1822-1870)
Camden (1796-1896)
Carroll (1815-1862)
Chatham (1805-1896)
Cherokee (1840-1863)
Clarke (1804-1848)
Clayton (1859-1882)
Columbia (1787-1863)
Coweta (1803-1895)
Crawford (1823-1858)
De Kalb (1840-1863)
Decatur (1822-1899)
Dooly (1831-1891)
Effingham (1815-1850)
Elbert (1803-1877)
Emanuel (1809-1944)
Fayette (1823-1850)
Floyd (1834-1883)
Forsyth (1830-1848)
Franklin (1795-1868)
Fulton (1829-1865)
Gilmer (1834-1871)
Glynn (1818-1867)
Gordon (1864-1870)
Greene (1786-1943)
Gwinnett (1827-1838)
Hall (1819-1832)
Hancock (1798-1889)
Harris (1821-1942)
Henry (1820-1851)
Irwin (1827-1879)
Jackson (1805-1857)
Jasper (1808-1859)
Jefferson (1802-1919)
Johnson (1839-1880)
Jones (1807-1880)
Laurens (1809-1861)
Liberty (1739-1865)
Lincoln (1806-1850)
Lumpkin (1833-1852)
Macon (1853-1880)
Madison (1812-1850)
Marion (1840-1867)
Monroe (1824-1850)
Montgomery (1807-1851)
Morgan (1808-1869)
Murray (1831-1865)
Muscogee (1820-1859)
Newton (1822-1899)
Oglethorpe (1701-1898)
Paulding (1833-1873)
Pike (1823-1859)
Pulaski (1800-1899)
Putnam (1807-1850)
Randolph (1836-1839)
Richmond (1773-1874)
Screven (1815-1850)
Stewart (1823-1864)
Sumter (1830-1867)
Talbot (1803-1844)
Taliaferro (1800-1888)
Tattnall (1802-1845)
Telfair (1810-1867)
Terrell (1826-1865)
Troup (1829-1857)
Union (1829-1857)
Upson (1701-1867)
Walton (1820-1882)
Warren (1699-1805)
Washington (1824-1857)
Wayne (1809-1880)
Whitfield (1855-1861)
Wilkes (1791-1865)
Wilkinson (1811-1883)