Welcome to the Palmetto State: South Carolina State Research Guide
Back to Blog
City Hall and Court House in Charleston, South Carolina City Hall and Court House in Charleston, South Carolina South Carolina was one of the original 13 colonies; it was the first state to secede from the Union and one of the first to rejoin the Union. First explored in the 1500s by the Spanish and French it was also later settled by the English, Dutch and Scots-Irish. Charles Town, first settled in 1680 (and renamed Charleston in 1783) was one of the first pre-planned towns in North America and was the capital of the state until 1790.  Columbia became the capital in 1790 and still is today. South Carolina is known as the Palmetto State after its state tree.  The tree was added to its state flag when it seceded in 1861. South Carolina played an important catalyst role in the Civil War. Following the election of Abraham Lincoln, South Carolina was the first state to secede, and first to ratify the Constitution of the Confederate States of America. The first shots of the Civil War were fired as the Union ship Star of the West' tried to reinforce Fort Sumter.  In 1865, General William Tecumseh Sherman's troops cut a swath through South Carolina leaving a path of destruction in its wake, and burned the capital city of Columbia. Our new free state guide, ?South Carolina Resources: Family History Sources in the Palmetto State, has an overview and timeline of the state, along with resources to explore when searching for your South Carolina ancestors. Guides for other states are also available in the Learning Center under Free State Research Guides.