Search for content in message boards

Which software has priority?

Replies: 14

Which software has priority?

Posted: 1356641118000
Classification: Query
I found a duplicated ancestor in my family tree in Ancestry.Com (Ancestry added this duplicate person, I did not). I carefully clicked 'edit' on the duplicate person and chose 'delete this person'. However Ancestry deleted the whole 200-yr branch back from this person...including his wife and her branch! Unfortunately, 'UNDO' refused to undo the deletion! I hoped that going to my copy of FTM would allow FTM to sync to Ancestry and replace the deleted branch. After activating FTM, the 'lost' branch was displayed correctly in FTM! BUT as soon as 'sync' locked FTM to Ancestry...the branches in FTM also was completely deleted without my permission!
Luckily, I had backed up my complete FTM file yesterday.
Using Restore I was able to repair the FTM deletion.
But I am not sure what will happen next when Ancestry takes command of both software packages.
Is there someway to prevent Ancestry syncing with FTM and deleting branch sections without permission?
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
cl_nelson 1356641118000 
silverfox3280 1356648087000 
sl_kelly 1356648859000 
cl_nelson 1356655560000 
sl_kelly 1356657481000 
cl_nelson 1356670150000 
sl_kelly 1356670756000 
BurgessDonnel... 1356671067000 
sturdy2 1356721062000 
BurgessDonnel... 1356659582000 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic