Search for content in message boards

Berlitsch/Brlic, Bombeck, Alt, Kotzbeck, Wenik, Sajer

Replies: 6

Re: Berlitsch/Brlic, Bombeck, Alt, Kotzbeck, Wenik, Sajer

Posted: 1286035131000
Classification: Query
"the look out of window" that time to see which flag was definetly at end of WW1 for being before "austrian" to be "yugoslavic" then. but of sure the look was not every day.
In 1918, after the disintegration of the Austrian-Hungarian Empire following World War I, the Duchy of Styria was divided between the newly established states of German Austria and the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs. Rudolf Maister, a Slovene major of the former Austro-Hungarian Army, occupied the town of Maribor in November 1918 and claimed it to the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs. After a short fight with German Austrian provisional units, the current border was established, which mostly -- with notable exceptions such as Maribor (Marburg an der Drau) itself and other towns in lower Styria and along the new border-- followed the ethnic-linguistic division between Slovenes and ethnic Germans.
Already in December 1918, all of Lower Styria was de facto included in the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (later known as Yugoslavia). In 1922, the County of Maribor was formed, comprising most of the territory of Lower Styria, plus the Prekmurje and the Medjimurje regions. After the coup d'etat of King Alexander I of Yugoslavia in January 1929, the counties were abolished and replaced with nine Banates (Slovene: Banovina)[1]. Following the reorganization implemeted by the Yugoslav constitution of 1931, Lower Styria was incorporated in the newly established Drava Banovina, which was more or less identical with Slovenia, with Ljubljana as its capital city.
In April 1941, Nazi Germany invaded Yugoslavia and Lower Styria was annexed to the Third Reich with the aim to re-Germanize the region. After World War II, Yugoslav authority over the region was re-established and Lower Styria became an integral part of the Socialist Republic of Slovenia. Since June 25 1991, Lower Styria has been part of the independent Republic of Slovenia.<<

On the collapse of Austria-Hungary in the aftermath of World War I, the rump state of German Austria claimed all Cisleithanian Austria with a significant German-speaking population including large parts of the Styrian duchy, while the Slovene Lower Styrian part joined the State of Slovenes, Croats, and Serbs. Armed conflicts arose especially around the multilingual town of Maribor, until by the 1919 Treaty of St Germain the former duchy was partitioned broadly along ethnic lines, with two thirds of its territory (then called Upper Styria) including the ducal capital of Graz remaining with the Federal State of Austria, and the southern third of Lower Styria with Maribor passing to the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, after independence 1991 a part of modern Slovenia.
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
annamariamull... 1282327222000 
Mohnbauer 1286035131000 
Mohnbauer 1286035793000 
annamariamull... 1286068119000 
Mohnbauer 1286200525000 
1_ixchel 1347202340000 
annamariamull... 1387390717000 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic