Message Boards > Localities > North America > United States > States > Georgia > Counties > Campbell


Subject: Re: They were still calling them Plantations, even after Emancipation
Author: Wright
Date: Friday, February 1, 2002
Classification: Query

First, I would like to define the term plantation. In Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary, it is defined as a usually large group of plants and especially trees. This is a fairly vague definition that does not give any detail about how the stand was established.

Put simply:
Plantations are a crop - a form of agriculture.
Native forest logging is more akin to hunting and gathering

Main Entry: plan·ta·tion
Pronunciation: plan-'tA-sh&n
Function: noun
Date: 1569
1 : a usually large group of plants and especially trees under cultivation
2 : a settlement in a new country or region
3 a : a place that is planted or under cultivation b : an agricultural estate usually worked by resident labor

Secondly, I would like to ask why you stated, "even after the emancipation they still call them plantations". The imancipation has nothing to do with plantations. There are many working plantations in the south today. Also, Please read below.

"The Great Proclamation" (1960), Commager, Henry Steele; "Mr. Lincoln's Proclamation" (1964), Donovan, Frank; "The Emancipation Proclamation" (1964), Franklin, John Hope, ed.


Whereas on the 22nd day of September, A.D. 1862, a proclamation was issued by the President of the United States, containing, among other things, the following, to wit:

"That on the 1st day of January, A.D. 1863, all persons held as slaves within any State or designated part of a State the people whereof shall then be in rebellion against the United States shall be then, thenceforward, and forever free.....
(please note the use of "rebellion against the USA" which does not include the Union States)

Arkansas, Texas, Louisiana (except the parishes of St. Bernard, Palquemines,Jefferson, St. John, St. Charles, St. James, Ascension, Assumption, Terrebone,Lafourche, St. Mary, St. Martin, and Orleans, including the city of New
Orleans), Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, and Virginia (except the forty-eight counties designated as West Virginia, and also the counties of Berkeley, Accomac, Northhampton, Elizabeth City, York, Princess Anne, and Norfolk, including the cities of Norfolk and Portsmouth), and which excepted parts are for the present left precisely as if this proclamation were not issued."

NOTE - Slavery was NOT abolished in one Confederate (Tennessee) and four Union states (Maryland, Delaware. Kentucky, West Virginia, and Missouri).